European Thermoelectric Society Elections 2013

News Category: 

Three European Thermoelectric Society (ETS) Board Director positions will be opened for election at the 11th European Conference on Thermoelectrics, to be held in Noordwijk, The Netherlands November 18th to 20th.

The President invites you to nominate your candidate(s) by email to containing:

  1. Name
  2. Address
  3. Affiliation
  4. Relationship to thermoelectric
  5. And an agreement of the candidate to apply for a board position

The President encourages the European thermoelectricians to make every effort to attract candidates from a variety of European Countries, technical fields, and institutions, to best serve the Mission of the International Thermoelectric Society.

Board Directors are elected for a three-years term and are expected to play an active role in the European Thermoelectric Society.

The current 13 board members are: A. Maignan, France (President), A. Weidenkaff, Switzerland (Vice President, Treasurer), H. Böttner, Germany (Secretary), M. Martin- Gonzalez M., Spain, Codecasa, Italy, M. Fedorov, Russia, M. Martin- Gonzalez, Spain, E. Müller, Germany, L. Rosendahl, Denmark, J. Tobola, Poland, A. Amaldi, Italy, L. Holmgren, Sweden, B.Lenoir, France;

The three underlined members will leave the board.

The major goals (objectives) of the Society, as stated in the ETS are:

  1. a)  To promote cooperation and the exchange of information and ideas between individuals and groups with interest in thermoelectricity;

  2. b)  To organize conferences and training courses on the subject of thermoelectricity for members and other interested persons;

  3. c)  To encourage collaboration in thermoelectricity in applied and fundamental research and in teaching;

  4. d)  To bring in contact and to support and facilitate communication between industry and academics regarding business application of thermoelectric facilities;

  5. e)  To represent Europe in international thermoelectricity organizations.

  6. f)  To fund research projects in the field of thermoelectricity.

  7. g)  To award a prize for outstanding merits or achievements in the field of thermoelectricity.

Please don’t hesitate to submit your nominations. Nominations will be accepted until October 18th, 2013. Short biographies and information of the Nominees will be posted on the ECT 2013 web site at shortly after.

The election of the new ETS Board Directors will be organized at the Conference in Noordwijk, The Netherlands and further details will be announced at the beginning of the conference by the ETS President. 

-- Antoine Maignan, ETS President


PDF icon ETS_ELECTIONS_2013.pdf88.18 KB
Image icon Nominees_ETS_ELECTIONS_20134.26 KB


Nominees for the ETS

Nominees for the ETS-Elections

The six nominees are :

Name Surname Country Affiliation
BURKOV Aleksandr Russia Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute of RAS; Laboratory for physics of thermoelements - St Peterburg
KONIG Jan Germany Fraunhofer Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM
Group Manager Thermoelectric Energy Converters - Freiburg
LOVVIK Ole Martin Norway Structure Physics Groups
Department of Physics
University of Oslo
MIN Gao UK School of Engineering
Cardiff University
Neapoleos And Patriarchou Grigoriou - Athens 
POPULOH Sacha Switzerland Laboratory for Solid State Chemistry and Catalysis
Empa - Dübendorf