Subscribe/unsubscribe to "ITSnews", the ITS Newsletter/mailing list for all announcements & news

ECT2008, European Conference on Thermoelectrics


Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris (ENSCP), 11, rue Pierre et Marie Curie, 75005 Paris.

City, State/Prov: 

Paris 5



Contact Name: 

Prof. Claude Godart, Institut de Chimie et Matériaux Paris-Est (ICMPE) Thiais, France


+33 1 49 78 12 47


+33 1 49 78 12 03

Implantable Thermoelectric Device Helps Epilepsy

This is actually a couple years old, but I stumbled across it today.

A team at Rensselaer and the Washington University of Medicine in St. Louis are developing a small, implantable  thermoelectric device and heat pipe to cool specific portions of the brain and help inhibit epileptic seizures.  The full story,

indicates in 2005 they were moving toward testing in primates.

A journal review article on the subject is available:

News Category: 

Ukraine President honors Prof. Anatychuk: 70-th Jubilee and 50 Years in Thermoelectrics

Academician, Professor L. Anatychuk from Ukraine, scientist, engineer, the author of books and scientific works, editor of “Journal of  Thermoelectricity”, organizer and President of the International Thermoelectric Academy is well known to thermoelectric community.

On July 15 Dr. Anatychuk celebrates his 70-th jubilee and 50-th anniversary of scientific and pedagogical activity in the field of  thermoelectricity.

News Category: 

Al Schock, Longtime Space Nuclear Power Expert 1926-2007

I don't suppose most ZTnews readers knew or heard of Al Schock.  But I count myself fortunate to have known him for about 23 years.  Al was an icon in the US Radioisotope Thermoelectric Generator programs, and space nuclear power generally, for as long as I can remember.  Scan the literature on RTGs and you'll find Al everywhere, either as author or as a citation.

News Category: 

Peltier Cooled Pet Bed: $250

I noticed the following link about a pet bed, made of orthopedic foam and with a built-in Peltier cooler/heater:

So, if your love your dog and love thermoelectrics finally here's a way to enjoy both.  And at the bargain price of $250, you'll want nothing but the best for your dog.  The above piece talks about the product, but to actually buy one use this link:

News Category: 

ITS and Climate Change

Among the agenda items facing the ITS Board at their annual meeting held June 3, 2007 prior to ICT2007 was the following proposal:

Proposal to Amend ITS Constitution to reflect Global Climate Change

WHEREAS Global Climate Change has emerged as the key challenge of the
modern age the Goals of the International Thermoelectric Society (ITS)
are hereby modified to include as the first goal:

"TO PROMOTE an understanding of the role thermoelectric technology may
play in environmental impact and mitigating global climate change."

Upon approval by the ITS Board, said goal is to be inserted in the ITS
immediately following the "Goals" section heading.

 I am pleased to report the proposal was approved unanimously and the ITS Constitution has been so modified.

News Category: 

Report on ICT2007 (in abstentia)

While I was unable to attend ICT2007 I have had news from several who did. Here I shall attempt to summarize a few highlights.  As usual, all errors are my own.

243 scientists, engineers and business leaders from around the world attended ICT2007 on Jeju Island, Korea June 3-7, 2007.  By all accounts the conference was a great success.  The program (authors and titles) is available online at:

News Category: 


Subscribe to International Thermoelectric Society RSS